Broad Bay Sailing AssociatioN

BBSA hosts many different type of events during the sailing season.  There are social events (some land based and some on the water), races, cruises, membership meetings with speakers, and training.  Scroll to the bottom of the list to find a list and links of past events. 

If you would like to add another event to our calendar, contact the event managers at:  event@broadbaysailing.org 

All Scheduled BBSA Events

    • Saturday, October 03, 2020
    • 10:00 AM (EDT)
    • Willoughby Bay
    Register

    Join us for an October tradition on Willoughby Bay... the Memorial Race.  Racing is for non-spinnaker, single headsail.  This is a staggered-start, pursuit-style race with handicaps taken into consideration at the start.  Each boat will have its own starting time.  There will be a post-race party (approx. 3:30pm) with refreshments in the southwest corner of Willoughby Harbor Marina.  Race awards will be handed out at the Willoughby End-of-Season Party following the Hot-Buttered Rum Race in November. 

    Notice of Race

    The sailing instructions with course descriptions and starting times will be provided at the Skippers' Meeting.  



    • Sunday, October 04, 2020
    • (EDT)

    CCV hosts the Fall Series Day 2 on October 4, 2020

    Notice of Race (NOR)

    • Sunday, October 11, 2020
    • (EDT)

    CCV hosts the 3rd day of their Fall Series on October 11, 2020.

    Notice of Race (NOR)

    • Monday, October 12, 2020
    • (EDT)
    • Tuesday, October 20, 2020
    • (EDT)
    • Online
    Register

    If you are a new member who joined in 2020 and have not yet ordered a member name tag, register here to place an order for 2 free BBSA Name Tags.  Last day to order for the fall shipment is October 20.

    If you are a member who joined prior to 2020, you can order additional or replacement name tags for $10 each by going to the following link:
    Existing Member Order for Name Tags.

    New members who joined in 2020 can order two (2) free names tags for members within your membership.  For example, you can order one for yourself and another for your spouse.  You can order additional name tags for members of your family for $10 each.  

    The BBSA name tag has the BBSA burgee on it along with your name and, if applicable, your boat name.

    Please make sure you fill out everything correctly, as the names and boat are printed just as you type it. It can only be ordered through the website. Please email Mary Greblunas at marygreblunas@yahoo.com with any questions.

    This order will be placed in Octboer and the next opportunity will be next spring.  You may order your name tag at any time, but we will only ship name tags twice a year.   Please wear your name tags when you attend meetings and events. 

    Thank you.

    • Tuesday, October 13, 2020
    • (EDT)
    • Tuesday, October 20, 2020
    • (EDT)
    • Online
    Register

    Mary Greblunas is taking orders for a fall shipment of additional member names tags.  Register here to place an order for a BBSA Name Tag.

    As a member, you can order replacement name tags or additional name tags for yourself or the members in your family for $10 each.   Last day to order for the fall shipment is October 20.  

    If you are a new member in 2020, you can order 2 free name tags by going to: 
    New member order free name tags

    The BBSA name tag has the BBSA burgee on it along with your name and, if applicable, your boat name.


    Please make sure you fill out everything correctly, as the names and boat are printed just as you type it. It can only be ordered through the website. Please email Mary Greblunas at marygreblunas@yahoo.com with any questions.

    The name tags were brought back so we can put a name with your face. Please wear yours to meetings and other gatherings. Hopefully, we will be able to get together soon. 

    This order will be placed mid-May and the next opportunity will be mid-October. You may order your name tag at any time, but we will only ship name tags twice a year.

    Thank you.


    • Saturday, October 17, 2020
    • (EDT)

    OPCYC hosts the annual Round the Lights Race on October 17, 2020.

    For details, go to:  https://www.opcyc.org/rtl

    • Thursday, November 05, 2020
    • (EST)
    • Sunday, November 08, 2020
    • (EST)
    • Urbana, VA
    Register

    Join the cruisers for a trip to Urbana for their Annual Oyster Festival.  The trip will be hosted by Bob Kochan, so look for details as we get closer.  

    • Saturday, November 07, 2020
    • 10:00 AM (EST)
    • Willoughby Bay and Rebel Marina

    The Broad Bay Sailing Association and Willoughby Racers are pleased to announce the 2020 Hot-Buttered Rum Race.   Classes will be non-spinnaker, single headsail only.   Class splits will be based on the entries. There will be 2 classes (Silver Label & Gold Label).  See the Notice of Race for details and registration information*.

    *Check back here later for registration and NOR. 


    1000 hours - Skippers’ Meeting – Front steps of WHM

    1200 hours - First Flag

    1500 hours - End-of-Season Party and Awards


    Following the race, hot-buttered rum will be served and war stories exchanged along with a chili cook-off at the Willoughby Racers End-of-Season Party at Willoughby Harbor Marina. Willoughby Racers season trophies will also be handed out.

    Info/Questions:
    willoughbyracers@broadbaysailing.org


    • Saturday, November 21, 2020
    • (EST)
    • Sunday, November 22, 2020
    • (EST)
    • Norfolk Waterside
    Register

    Join BBSA cruisers for the annual Grand Illumination Parade based at Norfolk Waterside.  The event is hosted by Jonathan Romero.  

    Details to come as we get closer.  

Past events

Saturday, September 26, 2020 Atlantic Regatta
Wednesday, September 23, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC: French/Elixir
Sunday, September 20, 2020 CCV Fall Series Day 1
Wednesday, September 16, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC: Lewandowski/Lew's Crews
Wednesday, September 09, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC: Qejvani/Sea Goat
Friday, September 04, 2020 Labor Day Cruise to Pirates Beach
Thursday, September 03, 2020 Willoughby Racers Fall Series Race 6
Wednesday, September 02, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC:Midkiff/Serendipity Too
Wednesday, August 26, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC:Eash/Brittany
Sunday, August 23, 2020 Annual Founders Race
Saturday, August 22, 2020 BBSA Championship (Bold Mariner Cup)
Wednesday, August 19, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC: Girardin/Black Widow
Saturday, August 15, 2020 Leo Wardrup Memorial Cape Charles Cup
Friday, August 14, 2020 LWM Cape Charles Cup - Skippers' Meeting(s) - 2 shifts
Wednesday, August 12, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race RC: Giffin/Coeur d' Alene
Sunday, August 09, 2020 Online Auction supporting the Cape Charles Cup
Wednesday, August 05, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC: Goodman/Red Frog
Saturday, August 01, 2020 Plantation Light Race
Friday, July 31, 2020 Shuck & Suck Cape Charles
Wednesday, July 29, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC: DeSteph/Restless
Wednesday, July 22, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC: Baun/Base Runner
Sunday, July 19, 2020 Last day of regular registration for the Cape Charles Cup
Sunday, July 19, 2020 Last day for LWMCCC skippers to update their order - order here
Saturday, July 18, 2020 Moonlight Triangle Race
Wednesday, July 15, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC:Speed/Aspire
Sunday, July 12, 2020 Easton Plein Air Fest
Wednesday, July 08, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race RC: Judge/Cool Change
Sunday, July 05, 2020 Wind-Blown Cruise
Friday, July 03, 2020 Independence Day Cruise to Cape Charles
Wednesday, July 01, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - Howell/Pegasus
Monday, June 29, 2020 Cape Henry Cup - POSTPONED Date TBD
Saturday, June 27, 2020 58th Broad Bay Regatta
Wednesday, June 24, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC: DeSteph/Restless
Tuesday, June 23, 2020 LCSA Review Session: Sailing Instructions and iStart Box Usage
Friday, June 19, 2020 Canceled: Kiptopeke State Park Cruise
Thursday, June 18, 2020 Willoughby Racers Summer Series Race 4
Wednesday, June 17, 2020 LCSA Wednesday Night Race - RC: Spittler/Wharf Rat (on Flight Risk)
Saturday, June 13, 2020 CANCELED: Cruise to Mobjack Bay
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 Overview of the Flight Risk's Trip to the Exumas
Friday, May 15, 2020 Last day for 2020 new members to order free name tags
Friday, May 15, 2020 Last day to purchase additional BBSA name tags
Friday, April 24, 2020 ** CANCELED ** Yorktown Riverwalk Landing Cruise - Pirate Invasion
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 **CANCELLED** Membership Meeting
Saturday, April 04, 2020 Request a refund for the Feb 29th "Racing Rules Made Easy Seminar" which was postponed to April 4th
Saturday, April 04, 2020 **CANCELED** Racing Rules Made Easy (Mark Roundings & Obstructions)
Thursday, April 02, 2020 Live Webinar - "Off the Wind": Modern Advancements in Downwind Sailing
Saturday, March 28, 2020 POSTPONED: Little Creek 2020 Kick-off Party/2019 Awards
Thursday, March 26, 2020 ** TBD ** Willoughby Racers SI and Class Ribbon Pick-Up
Monday, March 23, 2020 **CANCELLED** Spinnakers, Double Head Sails, Off Wind Sailing Presentation
Thursday, March 19, 2020 CANCELED: Race Committee Refresher Training CANCELED!
Tuesday, March 17, 2020 March Membership Meeting **CANCELLED**
Tuesday, March 10, 2020 Tides and Currents for Sailing Presentation
Wednesday, March 04, 2020 Lola Howard Remembrance Sunset Get Together
Sunday, February 23, 2020 BBSA Cruisers 2020 Cruise Planning Meeting
Tuesday, February 18, 2020 February Membership Meeting
Saturday, February 01, 2020 US Sailing One Day Race Management Seminar
Saturday, January 18, 2020 TRIM to WIN: A Modern Guide to Sail Trim Presentation
Saturday, January 11, 2020 BBSA Annual Banquet
Tuesday, December 17, 2019 No Membership Meeting in December
Tuesday, December 10, 2019 Training: Winter Maintenance and Repair Seminar
Friday, November 22, 2019 Grand Illumination Cruise
Tuesday, November 19, 2019 November Friendsgiving, Potluck, Election of Officers
Saturday, November 02, 2019 Hot-Buttered Rum Race
Tuesday, October 22, 2019 October Membership Meeting and Bold Mariner Cup Awards - date shifted!
Saturday, October 05, 2019 Willoughby Memorial Race
Saturday, October 05, 2019 Chisman Creek Anchoring Weekend - now Hospital Point
Saturday, September 28, 2019 Neptune's Atlantic Regatta
Wednesday, September 25, 2019 Last LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Spittler (Wharf Rat)
Wednesday, September 18, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: French (Elixir)
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 Alert!! Sept 24 is the last day to register for Neptune's Atlantic Regatta
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 LWM Cape Charles Cup Awards and September Membership Meeting
Thursday, September 12, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Bangs
Wednesday, September 11, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Lewandowski
Thursday, September 05, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Hughes
Wednesday, September 04, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Seely
Saturday, August 31, 2019 2019 Chesapeake Challenge Version 2.18 - Labor Day Race
Friday, August 30, 2019 Labor Day Cruise - Fleets Bay/Pirates Beach
Thursday, August 29, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Wandling
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Speed
Thursday, August 22, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Rule
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Brannon
Tuesday, August 20, 2019 August Membership Meeting and Pool Party
Thursday, August 15, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Ritger
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Larson
Sunday, August 11, 2019 Cape Charles Cup - Race Day 2
Saturday, August 10, 2019 Cape Charles Cup - Race Day 1
Friday, August 09, 2019 Cape Charles Cup - Skippers' Meeting
Wednesday, August 07, 2019 LCSA Wednesday RACE CANCELED DUE TO T-STORMS- RC: Lewandowski
Monday, August 05, 2019 Last day to register for LWM Cape Charles Cup
Saturday, August 03, 2019 Norfolk Tides Baseball Game - Hospital Point Anchorage
Friday, August 02, 2019 Cape Charles Shuck & Suck BBSA/HYC Joint Cruise
Thursday, August 01, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Casey
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Moore
Friday, July 26, 2019 Norfolk Yacht Club Seafood Buffet
Thursday, July 25, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Holt
Wednesday, July 24, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Carroll
Thursday, July 18, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Skirven
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Veraldi
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 July Membership Meeting - Preparing for Offshore Voyages and Races
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 Deadline of Cape Charles Cup early bird registration rates
Friday, July 12, 2019 Tour Brock Environmental Center and dinner/concert at Taste
Thursday, July 11, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Hunsberger
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Giffin
Saturday, July 06, 2019 BBSA Hobie Family Fun Day
Wednesday, July 03, 2019 4th of July Cruise - Cape Charles
Wednesday, July 03, 2019 NO LCSA Wednesday night race - due to holiday
Saturday, June 29, 2019 57th Broad Bay Regatta
Thursday, June 27, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Weisert
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: DeSteph
Monday, June 24, 2019 Cruise up the Wye River
Saturday, June 22, 2019 BBSA Championship (Bold Mariner Cup) and Registration
Saturday, June 22, 2019 Hobie Fleet 32: 13th Annual Rappahannock Rivah Regatta
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Boatwright
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Summer Cruise III - Marina Cruise Chesapeake Bay
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Summer Cruise II - Chesapeake Bay
Thursday, June 20, 2019 Summer Sailstice Cruise - Fleets Bay
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: VanHoose
Wednesday, June 19, 2019 Last day of free registration to BBSA Championship
Monday, June 17, 2019 NO Membership Meeting in June
Saturday, June 15, 2019 Summer Cruise I -Sooper Looper NC Cruise
Thursday, June 13, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Montgomery
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Eash
Friday, June 07, 2019 York River Yacht Haven Cruise - CANCELED!!
Friday, June 07, 2019 HarborFest - Downtown Norfolk
Thursday, June 06, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Darling
Wednesday, June 05, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Brannon
Friday, May 31, 2019 Southern Bay Race Week
Thursday, May 30, 2019 No Willoughby racing this week
Wednesday, May 29, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Baun
Saturday, May 25, 2019 Memorial Day Cruise - Mobjack Bay
Friday, May 24, 2019 70th Down the Bay Race
Thursday, May 23, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Brazzi
Wednesday, May 22, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Roberts
Tuesday, May 21, 2019 May Membership Meeting and Cape Henry Cup Awards
Saturday, May 18, 2019 Spring into Sailing - Cruise to Waterside
Friday, May 17, 2019 Deadline for Cape Henry Cup Registration
Thursday, May 16, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Hulse
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Goodman
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 Cape Henry Cup Sailing Instructions
Tuesday, May 14, 2019 Sooper Looper Pre-Cruise Social
Saturday, May 11, 2019 Sail Nauticus - Frisky on the Whiskey
Saturday, May 11, 2019 Sailing Uma Meet-Up
Friday, May 10, 2019 Registration is open for the BBSA Championship
Thursday, May 09, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: McCrillis
Wednesday, May 08, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Howell
Saturday, May 04, 2019 Marine Yard Sale
Thursday, May 02, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Cohee
Wednesday, May 01, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Gade
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 Last day of early-bird registration for SBRW
Friday, April 26, 2019 Yorktown Riverwalk Landing Cruise - Pirate Invasion
Thursday, April 25, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Race - RC: Newton
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: French
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 Last Day to Sign Up for Harborfest Parade & Official Events
Thursday, April 18, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Night Race - RC: Hardesty
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Speed
Tuesday, April 16, 2019 April Membership Meeting and Potluck
Saturday, April 13, 2019 Man Overboard Class
Thursday, April 11, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Night Race - RC: Utley
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Whatley
Saturday, April 06, 2019 SpinSheet Crew Party in Hampton
Saturday, April 06, 2019 Sail Trim around the Race Course
Thursday, April 04, 2019 Willoughby Thursday Night Race - RC: Clayton
Wednesday, April 03, 2019 LCSA Wednesday Race - RC: Spittler
Saturday, March 30, 2019 BBSA Annual Sock Burning Party
Thursday, March 28, 2019 Willoughby Racers Registration/Orientation Night
Thursday, March 28, 2019 LCSA Sailing Instruction and RC Review
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 Training: Race Start Strategies
Saturday, March 23, 2019 Little Creek 2018 Awards/2019 Kick-off Party
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 March Membership Meeting
Saturday, March 09, 2019 Race Committee Clinic hosted by CCV
Saturday, March 09, 2019 Virginia Boating Safety Class
Sunday, February 24, 2019 Safety At Sea Seminar
Saturday, February 23, 2019 One Day Race Management Seminar
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 February Membership Meeting
Saturday, February 09, 2019 Racing Rules Made Easy
Saturday, February 02, 2019 Cruise Planning Meeting

"Broad Bay Sailing Association" is a non-profit organization. Virginia Beach, VA 23454

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software